a nice ride

I had the nicest experience this morning when I was out for my ride. Saturday and Sunday I take my bike out and do my Redcliffe route. It’s about 65km and a gorgeous scenic ride by the seaside. I was bunny hopping with a group of about seven riders this morning when J rolled up beside me at a red light and asked if I wanted to join them.

“Brisbane chicks who ride bikes” is a social group of all females plus one husband who ride socially.  J who rode with me gave me lots of good advice. Apparently I had all my gears wrong so by the time she had finished, I was speeding along with no more effort than normal. And one must always remember to keep the lead in your heels – that means pushing down with your heel, not your toes! Who would have known.

It probably does not sound like much to you, but I was really chuffed they slowed up and invited me along. I may yet become one of those lycra clad people supping coffee on a Saturday morning (except I will be the one drinking tea).

Leave a Reply

