volunteering for Anglicare SQ

I’ve been thinking about this for a year or two but could not find something that I thought I would like to do. I’d been trawling the volunteer websites but there was nothing in my area that I could do in the weekend.

However, I think I have found something. The government here is increasing the funding for Community Visitor Schemes and Anglicare Southern Queensland are looking for volunteers – so I put my hand up. I have finished the self paced workbook, done the face to face interview, police check completed and just waiting on my reference checks. Fingers crossed I am two phone calls away from being their newest recruit.

All going well I will be allocated a client not too far from where I live who I get to visit each week. Most just like to have a cup of tea and a chat, some people read their mail, others read books or do puzzles – it’s varied depending on the person.

It’s estimated that 8% of people over the age of 65 years are socially isolated, so hopefully my visiting will be able to brighten up someone’s day. Fingers crossed my application is successful 

 

Leave a Reply

