supporting small businesses

kiwiflossnz hammer

I was reminded recently of how important it is to support the small business operators. Not far from where I live is a little hardware store and there I can pick up whatever I need for my latest project.

Sure it might be easier to go to Bunnings or Mitre 10 Mega  but  the personal service is much nicer at my local store. It’s not brightly lit but the shelves are full of random bits and pieces that someone may need. Whether it is supplies for up-cycling a piece of furniture or help with tiles that have lifted — they always provide good advice.

And how many shops can you go into, and when you hand your credit card over, they look at you and say “oh … you’re so-and-so’s daughter”. But the guys are helpful and do not laugh no matter how pathetic my questions are. And that sort of service is priceless.

Leave a Reply

