the black dog

It’s never much fun when that old black dog comes for a visit. It’s hard to work through and even harder to talk about.

I should have done something when I saw it creeping up on me but as per normal, I buried my head in the sand hoping to work through it. Perhaps if had followed my doctor’s advice, I would not find myself in this little hole. She was hesitant when I suggested I decrease my happy pills dose but agreed to let me give it a go. Bad, bad move on my part when I dropped the dose further still without telling her.

I have had some serious conversations in my head around what set me off this time and I have increased my dose back to what the doctor told me it should be. Why did it happen … the details are not relevant but mix together my obsessive-compulsive tendency and inability to control certain aspects of my life, and the result is a meltdown. Teary, red-eyed, runny nosed meltdown.

It would be okay if it was a five minute wonder, but unfortunately these meltdowns take longer than five minutes to run their course. But I have had two tear-free days in a row which is positive. A very good friend of mine told me that crying is a good thing, cos it means you are losing water and therefore it is a good weight loss exercise.

So I hit the proverbial rock bottom and am looking upwards. It will mean some open and honest conversations over the next week which won’t be easy but will need to happen. 

Leave a Reply

