one’s mortality

I’ve had several reminders this week on the fragility of our mortality. In the blink of an eye it can all disappear, and for people all around the world it happening as I type.

Just yesterday a work colleague lost his wife to cancer, someone from my childhood died, and it’s the anniversary of my Mum. It’s 14 years on Monday since we lost her to cancer and it still feels like yesterday. I used to get scared that I would forget her – but I haven’t – and I still hear her whispering advice in my ear sometimes.

I came across this book on Facebook this morning and thought I should share it – The top five regrets of the dying. They are worth contemplating – some of the comment feeds are rather scathing but people will always draw different meanings from the same words. Life would be very dull if we all thought the same way.

  • I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me
  • I wish I hadn’t worked so hard
  • I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings
  • I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends
  • I wish that I had let myself be happier
Leave a Reply

