farewell to Miss Black

It was with some sadness that I heard Miss Black passed away at the grand age of 82 last weekend. Miss Black was the Year One new entrant teacher at my primary school. On the very first day of school, her and Miss Reid were the very first first teachers each five year old met.

Back then I thought Miss Black was old. But she wasn’t – she was only 49 years old. But what has made me stop and reflect is the realisation that she taught me how to read. I cannot even imagine where I would be if she had not patiently taught me my ABC’s. I can still remember the small books with a three worded sentence on each page that she sent me home with each night.

She touched so many lives, many hundreds over the years. If I was closer, I would have attended her funeral but alas I can not.

The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more you learn, the more places you’ll go. — Dr. Seuss, “I Can Read With My Eyes Shut!”

Leave a Reply

