a belated epiphany

We tend to forget that happiness doesn’t come as a result of getting something we don’t have, but rather of recognising and appreciating what we do have. ~ Frederick Keonig

It took a “thanks but no thanks” and a slightly bruised ego but I had one of those rare epiphanies this morning after reading this quote on The Happy Place’s wall. I applied for a job a while back but recently got the phone call saying I was unsuccessful. Obviously I was disappointed but not crushed or devastated like I have been in the past.

The quote made me stop and evaluate my life. Sure I was unsuccessful but is it really that bad? I have a good job, I couldn’t ask for a better boss, and the people I work with are great (well perhaps 95 per cent would more honest). Add to that, my enrolment has been accepted so I can complete my last two papers this coming Trimester. It will be a hard push for the next four months but the end result will be a little piece of paper saying I’ve obtained my NZDipBus. The other positive thing is that I am able to complete one of the papers (the research one) during work hours which means I won’t have to spend the entire 48 hours of my weekend studying.

So *she shrugs*…  life is quite good really.

Leave a Reply

