mastering the dreaded excel

Much to my dismay in January 2011 Microsoft confirmed they will no longer support MS Money and issued their sunset version. While this was good thing, it is also risky as the day will come when it no longer works on my laptop. I’m somewhat of a control freak when it comes to managing my budget. I don’t want to risk loading everything up onto a web-based product ‘cos what happens when the website goes kaput? All my records lost forever!

Therefore in light of Mr Gates’ decision I have set myself the goal of creating my own budgeting system that can record and track expenses across multiple bank accounts. It has helped that I recently finished my 10th paper (Applied Computing) and learnt how to do some snazzy things in Excel. I will admit it’s not my favourite software package but I am still going to give it a try. So far I have managed to successfully create a double SUMIFS query that returns all the current month’s transactions based on a search criteria I enter. So if I want to know how much I have spent on groceries, my little spreadsheet can now tell me. *slight smug smile*

Today’s addition was a message box that appears when I open the spreadsheet to remind me to balance my accounts. What’s more – it only appears during the last five days in the month.  Unfortunately I cannot claim credit for creating it as I googled it and www.mrexcel.com taught me. That’s not cheating, is it?

Leave a Reply

