p is for passion fruit

Passion fruit might end its life old and wrinkled but that is where any negative comments stop. It’s one of my favourite fruits and always brings back good childhood memories of me sitting on the shed step eating then straight off the vine.

I was delighted to see some at my farmers market and although they are not cheap, I could not resist buying some. They get placed in the fruitbowl in all their matt purple-black rounded splendour and if I have exercised considerable self-control there is usually a couple still in the bowl at week’s end.

By this stage they’ve shrunk and are somewhat shrivelled but inside is two spoonfuls of yummy-ness. Natural yoghurt and passionfruit is my favourite treat at the moment. I don’t know how long the season is so I will make the most of them while I can buy them.

Leave a Reply

