my new car

Things are falling nicely into place with my [now not so recent] move to Australia. The apartment in Wellington is sold, my home contents have arrived safely without falling off a container ship, I have a good job with a nice boss, my deposit on a new unit has been handed over, and I’ve bought a car.

I forgot how good it is to have my own wheels. After five years of inner city living, there was no need for me to own a car. But over here is a little different. I happily catch the train in and out of the city for work each day, but moving across suburbs is not quite so easy. Fine if the suburbs are on the same train line, but that is not always the case.

My new car is a cute little Hyundai Getz. Most would consider it an oversized shopping trolley, but I like it and it gets me from A to B. It’s cheap to fill up with petrol and and I can fit into any carpark space.

Leave a Reply

