motivation

Motivation, a process that elicits, controls, and sustains certain behaviours. I’m a walker (my ankles don’t like running), and I clock up lots of kilometres each week. I know the importance of a healthy lifestyle and I know I’ve only got one set of feet. So I have no regrets when I buy a new pair of Asics every six months or so. They support my feet well and they are comfortable. I recently came across a new toy  but had put it in the ‘want’ not ‘need’ category. But I changed my mind because of a simple bit of advice from my step-mum. She told me that buying anything associated with fitness, anything that is going to maintain or increase motivation to exercise regularly, has to be a good thing.

So when I picked up my new runners the other day, I also treated myself to a Nike+ Sports Band. It’s cool and it tracks my walking – time, distance, total distance, calories burned etc. I am only on day two of using it but so far it seems to be doing the trick. Best of all though is that the band looks like a watch so it doesn’t scream “oh look at her – she’s trying to be a fitness bunny.”

Leave a Reply

