when I asked for advice

Probably the best advice I ever got was to never compare my achievements against what others around me have done.

Unfortunately, or fortunately I am only now beginning to realise the true value of that advice. Where has it been for the last 40-ish years? And why was it not something that my teachers at school taught? I’m sure it would have saved me much angst over many a stupid, dumb thought going around and around in my head.

So now I try not to compare myself against what others have achieved – it doesn’t work all of the time but apparently practice makes perfect.

One Response to when I asked for advice

  1. There is a fabulous image somewhere of two rabbits and their carrots… here it is – on a blog. I just love it – and it’s always a nice little piece of comical reality…. Your post reminded me of it 🙂 http://theinnocentflower.blogspot.co.nz/2011/11/what-you-dont-see.html

Leave a Reply

