australia day

I’m sitting here making the most of the second to last day of my holiday break before I start my new job on Monday. Not sure what everyone else is doing but no doubt they will also be making the most of their day off work to celebrate Australia Day.

Australia day — everyone is talking about it but noone has told me why this date is so important. So Google to the rescue [again]. Today is when Australian’s recognise the arrival of the British fleet into Sydney Cove in 1788. There’s a cricket test being played at the oval in Adelaide, fireworks in Sydney tonight, and there is even a special doodle adorning Google Australia’s home page.

Me… today, well I would just be happy for the humidity to drop a little. Perhaps I’ll just go find a breezy seat in the shade and concentrate on the fun job of finding a place to buy.

Leave a Reply

