the waiting game

We all spend our time watching and waiting. Waiting for the bus, waiting for the morning latte, waiting for the phone to ring, waiting… waiting… waiting.

This week I have been on the other side of waiting. The first phase of the restructure is being announced this week and you could cut the tension in my office with a knife. Mathematics was never my strong suite but even I can work out that there are more people than there are positions as a result of this merge. Fortunately being a short term contractor I am not affected by the pending announcements, but it doesn’t stop me from thinking about what the others must be going through right now.

My first introduction to the world of redundancy was when I was 29, mere months after I had bought my first home. At the time it was the most devastating thing that had ever happened to me and totally destroyed my confidence. Now though, with the benefit of hindsight, it was the best thing that ever happened to me. I will never fall victim to having dumb debt. I can easily live within my budget, hire purchases are not part of my vocabulary, and my lifestyle reflects my salary.

But back to the watching and waiting — whatever happens this week I’ll stand by my colleagues and offer whatever support I can.

Leave a Reply

