wool blankets

I have always admired and been somewhat envious of people who use their spare time helping charities and other worthwhile organisations.

I’ve been hunting around for ages for something to do, something extra that might make a positive difference. All of the suggestions that Volunteer Wellington came up with were activities during the usual working week – not really an option since I work full time.

But the other day I was talking to my friend M and she told me about Wellington Hospitals & Health Foundation. Whilst time is precious, the little ones in the neo-natal unit at Wellington Hospital are even more precious. So after a bit of investigation and a few emails, I can officially say my new volunteering activity will be making handmade blankets.

Balls of wool donated by a local wool shop arrive in my letterbox, I then crochet or knit tiny baby blankets (40cm x 40cm), and deliver them back to the hospital. I can make as many or as few as I want. They will happily send me a continuous supply of wool and the end result? …huge warm fuzzies for all involved.

Leave a Reply

