peggy square blankets

Together with A & M we are going to rediscover a lost art. This revived interest is credited to the newest weekly craft magazine The Art of Crochet on sale in the shops. Along with patterns for scarves and cushions, there are step-by-step instructions and pictures on how to make the basic double and treble chain.

I was taught how to crochet many years ago by Mrs A when I was about 10 years old. I have been quite surprised at how quickly I remembered the basic techniques. Our project is not overly complicated – just lots of peggy squares using various stitching techniques. But in time they will be sewn together to make a warm colourful blanket (or afghan depending on where in the world you live).

These handmade blankets take me back to my childhood. Memories of them being tucked up under my chin on cold winter nights at Nana and Grandad’s house, or being wrapped up in one on the lounge sofa as kids when we were recovering from the flu. They can be knitted or crocheted, both are effective and result in a handmade craft masterpiece. I still have the blue and white crocheted blanket that Nana made for my doll’s cradle. It’s one of those things that I carefully store away with my other treasures because it’s special and I don’t have the heart to throw it away.

Well enough of this reminiscing… the crochet hook is calling

Leave a Reply

