should I buy a poppy?

I had a minor ethical dilemma this morning. You see it’s Poppy Day today in New Zealand — it’s iconic and has been running for years. We kiwis proudly wear a poppy to remember the men and women who served our country during the war. 

Today I had to decide whether or not to donate to the NZ Returned Services Association (RSA). The poppies used to be made by Kilmarnock Enterprises, a workshop in Christchurch who employs intellectually disabled people. The issue is that this organisation lost the contract last year and now the poppy parts (green plastic stalk and red paper flower) are sourced in China and then assembled by a company in Australia.

So do I make a stand for Kilmarnock Enterprises and not buy a poppy, or do I relent and buy one knowing the RSA has saved thousands of dollars that can be spent on better support for our war veterans? Well, it was hard but in the end Kilmarnock won over. It’s the first time ever that I have not worn a poppy and I feel really guilty. But I’m standing up for the little guy and perhaps if everyone does the same then Kilmarnock might be able to win back the contract. I know money makes the world go round but it’s not always the answer to happiness.

Leave a Reply

