goodbye paper, hello e-files

Have you noticed the shift in how we now choose to receive and store our personal and financial records?

I have just finished updating my will and was about to put the signed version through the photocopier before the original went back to my lawyer for safekeeping. But I stopped and thought why am I keeping a paper copy when none of my other personal or financial records are kept in paper? So I hit the scan button and sent the PDF to myself. The file is now saved to my geek stick (much like lipstick, I never leave home without it) which will be backed up to my home laptop this weekend.

In the past, by 31 March I would have a huge wad of paper (rates notices, power and phone bills, bank & credit card statements etc) that I would have to store somewhere for the required seven years. Funny how things are changing – now all my household bills arrive in my inbox, bank statements are a thing of the past, and my financial life revolves around Microsoft Money.

Leave a Reply

