decluttering

Plinky asked: what can’t you throw away?

If it looks like clutter, feels like clutter, and acts like clutter then it probably is clutter. Once upon a time when I had [nearly] limitless storage space I could indulge in the luxury of never throwing out things, *shrugs sheepishly* there was a certain comfort in keeping things just incase I might need it one day.

However, moving to a new whare in the city meant downsizing and creating a more minimalist environment. To do that needed determined resolve and willpower. The best clean out system I found and have used successfully is the SPACE system (Sort, Purge, Assess, Containerize & Equalize). I applied the system to my clothes and as a result have piles of spare coat hangers and empty drawers. The reward and sense of achievement is well worth the time and effort.

The best thing about this system is that you can apply it to any room in the house – wardrobes, kitchen drawers, and storage cupboards. But Plinky, the one thing that I can not part with is my 6th form high school uniform that everyone signed with a permanent marker pen on my last day of school.

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

