voting papers

It is always with a sense of impending doom that I open my voting pack for the local body elections and this year was no different.

I’ve “read” about some of the mayoral candidates in my local newspaper. Some were obviously PR pieces, and others were boring letters to the editor which were rather …well… boring. Based on this information I am expected to vote for not only my mayor, but also city councillors and representatives on the District Health Boards.

I have always been told that if you don’t vote, you can’t complain about what the successful candidate does and now I am at an impasse! I can come up with two votes for mayoral candidates but none of the councillor or DHB candidates impress me. So I can see three options: 1. abstain from voting, 2. tack my voting papers onto a dart board or 3. run spell check and grammar check over each bio.

Oh well, I have until 9 October to make my decisions… not that that more time is going to help me decide.

One Response to voting papers

  1. Leigh says:

    My husband believes you should opt for the dartboard option. 🙂

Leave a Reply

