pangrams

Sometimes called a holoalphabetic sentence, a pangram is a phrase that uses each letter of the english alphabet at least once. The lower the total number of letters you use, the more impressive the pangram will be regarded as.

The one I always remember is the quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dog. I thought it had been created as a  typing drill sentence but apparently not. According to Wikipedia it has been used since the late 19th century to test Telex data communication equipment for accuracy and reliability.

Some other clever ones I found include:

  • The five boxing wizards jumped quickly!
  • Heavy boxes perform quick waltzes and jigs
  • My faxed joke won a pager in the cable TV quiz show
  • Six boys guzzled cheap raw plum vodka quite joyfully
  • The wizard quickly jinxed the gnomes before they vaporized

The boxing wizards is my favourite 🙂

One Response to pangrams

  1. Leigh Hunt says:

    I like this one: The wizard quickly jinxed the gnomes before they vaporized.

    Much more in tune with my imagination! I always remember the typing training one though with the quick brown fox.

Leave a Reply

