My favourite book

Trying to decide on one’s all-time favourite book is like asking Imelda Marcos to pick her favourite pair of shoes.

Unfortunately I can’t decide on one book but I have managed to narrow it down to two series. The first is Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series. I’ve read them a number of times and will continue to reread them in the future. It’s so easy to get wrapped up and absorbed in the world she creates. Gabaldon’s quality research is evident in all of her books and that is one of the reasons why her books are so enjoyable. The story line holds your attention and keeps enticing you to read “just one more chapter.”

My second choice would be JRR Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings. Fully published in 1955, this set of three books takes pride of place in my bookcase. Each time I read the series, it serves as a reminder of how talented Mr Tolkien was. Writing by itself is an art which few people truly master, but he did. Using descriptors such as creative, inventive, inspired, and imaginative do not do Tolkien or the books justice. Even if you are not a fan of adventure fantasy books, everyone should read it. Try starting with The Hobbit and you’ll be hooked.

One Response to My favourite book

  1. […] the book and watched the DVDs several times and I have no clear favourite. Tolkien is brilliant, I’ve mentioned that before, but Sir Peter Jackson is also brilliant and that’s a fact noone can deny. […]

Leave a Reply

