goal setting

I tend to get gloomy when I’m not hitting the goals I’ve set for myself. So I thought instead of continuing to feel gloomy, I could write about what I should be doing to get myself back on track.

I read recently that you should not be in too much of a hurry to become successful. No matter what your goal is, it’s unlikely you are going to achieve it quickly. After all, if it’s easy to achieve, it probably won’t meet the SMART criteria anyway – Stretching, Measurable, Action orientated, Realistic, and Time bound.

You will have setbacks – probably numerous – but the measure of your commitment is can you can pick yourself up, dust yourself off and get back on track? I found some great advice on goal setting and although it related to weight loss and dieting, the principles can be applied to any type of goal. A selection of them are below and in the next week or so, I’ll expand them into more meaningful discussion topics.

  • Do create a plan
  • Don’t focus on too many things at once
  • Do track your progress
  • Don’t expect perfection
  • Do leave room for slip-ups
  • Don’t beat yourself up over failure
  • Do create a support system
  • Don’t ever forget that you can do it
  • Do reward your success
Leave a Reply

