remaking classic movies

What is up with Hollywood remaking all the old classics?  Just off the top of my head I can recall Alice in Wonderland, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, The Dukes of Hazard, Get Smart, and more recently The A Team.

Are there no creative people left capable of coming up with an original idea for a movie. My friend is a writer — perhaps she should shift her focus from writing novels to writing movie scripts. It has the potential to be a real money earner.

But back to the subject of old classics. A while back they remade Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. I don’t know whether it was that awful Johnny Depp or the glitzy (and gaudy) movie shorts, but I was so unimpressed I’ve never bothered to watch it since. I was just as unimpressed by the remake of Alice in Wonderland. What was interesting was a comment from an acquaintance. Her young daughter (age 7) found it too scary to watch. How can a classic children’s movie like Alice in Wonderland be scary?

They have however managed to get some right. Gone in 60 Seconds, I am Legend, The Italian Job, and the Thomas Crown Affair are a sample of ones I think are great remakes. I am sure there are heaps more on your “best of” list.

One Response to remaking classic movies

  1. Leigh Hunt says:

    Oooooh…. I believe that I would be that writer friend of yours… And yes, it could be quite a good little money earner. I might want to figure out how to get published first though…

    There are some great remakes, and some very poor ones. I heard yesterday that they are going to remake The Karate Kid! Wow – never saw that one coming.

    Great post KiwiFloss 🙂

Leave a Reply

