writers block

Apparently one succumbs to writer’s block eventually. Dictionary.com states it is a “usually temporary condition in which a writer finds it impossible to proceed with the writing of a novel, play, or other work.”

There are all sorts of suggestions for overcoming writers block: take a break from your computer, exercise, free-writing, pick topics you’re passionate about, keep a journal, or just wait it out. I was talking to a friend about my writer’s block and she suggested I carry a notebook. The theory is that when an idea springs to mind, no matter where I am, I can write it down.
 
I didn’t have the heart to tell her I already carry one. My problem is not that I can’t write, it’s that I don’t have topics to write about. I could try opinion pieces on current affairs like vampires or the british elections but that’s not where I want to take my blog. I like having a randomness about my posts. I’m not sure whether it makes for good reading but it gives me the freedom to write about a variety of topics.
 
So I’m hoping that by writing about my writers block, I will get it out of my system. Fingers crossed anyway.

Leave a Reply

