hitting the books

This is my first week of being an adult student, albeit a part-time one. I spent my first weekend hitting the books to catch up with the other students doing the course.  Minor technicalities including receiving my course material late and realising  last Friday that my first assignment is due in two weeks kick-started me into action.

I was sitting at my desk gazing out the window (cup-of-chai-tea study break I promise!) wondering about the origin of the phrase “hitting the books”. After a surf around the internet, I worked out that it’s a slang expression.  According to www.dictionary.com it means to study hard; or cram. I prefer the definition to study hard especially with intensity which I found at www.merriam-webster.com.

I wonder who invented it though, because one does not usually hit a book. Perhaps it had something to do with a student reading a confusing subject.  As a form of release, maybe the person hit the book to relieve their frustrations.  I don’t know, but it’s definitely not as weird as “we’re off to hit the night-clubs”… lol I’ll leave that one for you to figure out.

Leave a Reply

