Couch to 5K running plan

One of my aims for this year is to learn how to run and ultimately run the 2011 Round the Bay’s race. My progress from walking to running was coming along nicely and after a five minute warm-up walk I could run for about eight minutes.

So it was with a heap of frustration that I sprained my ankle running on a sloped surface. I’ve gone from running to nothing, and after a week or so of hobbling I am starting to get serious cabin fever. But on a positive note, I’m getting to know my physiotherapist well and the crutch is certainly helping with the sympathy vote.

She has put me onto a great natural anti-inflammatory cream. It’s packed full of goodies like arnica, eucalyptus and calendula and works a treat. I read somewhere that Evening Primrose Oil helps with bruising and inflammation so I am taking that three times a day as well. I’m also trying to say positive affirmations to myself about how my ankle is getting better (not so sure about the effectiveness of this one).

However, something I’m doing must be right because my ankle didn’t swell up to the size of a balloon last night. The sooner it’s better, the sooner I can get back to my Couch to 5K Running Plan. If you don’t know what it is, check out their website www.c25k.com  You can also become a fan on Facebook and get access to interesting articles and topics of discussion.

So a high five from me to these people, long may you inspire others to get off the couch and get healthy.

Leave a Reply

