one year, one month and one day…

So I want to shout it from the rooftops – I think I have earned the right.  One year, one week and one day has such a nice ring about it.  I didn’t know if I’d survive the distance, particularly when I have friends who smoke like chimneys. I can honestly only remember two instances in the twelve months where I sat there thinking gee I would really love a cigarette. The cravings only ever happened when I was having a wine. The experts say cravings subside over time and for me, I found that this is true.  If I went and found something else to do, I’d forgot about it until the next time.  Boy did I make lots of cups of tea in those early days. Then as the months went by, those instances were less and less.

Now I never feel like smoking a cigarette, in-fact I find the smell yucky.  I guess the next phase in my smoke-free life is to stop counting the months.

Leave a Reply

