what would you do for a friend?

I’m lucky to be blessed with some amazing friends.  Sure sometimes some of them frustrate me immensely, especially when they are telling me a few home truths that I don’t want to hear.  But when the going gets tough, you soon find out who you can count on.  That usually determines if you are willing to go out of your way to help them out when they are stuck.

This morning I received an amusing text from a friend asking if I would hem some school uniform skirts & shirts.  Her eldest daughter was begging her not to do the sewing herself and to find someone that could actually sew. Last year when her Mum did the sewing, the skirt was short in the front and long in the back and she had to go to school like that every day. Very embarrassing for a teenager apparently! I’ve happily said yes on the following conditions: she has to pick me up in her new convertible (don’t ask me what sort but it’s black and nicknamed the italian stallion), she has to feed me lunch & she has to make sure the girls are out of bed for the measuring and pinning exercise.

The upside for me is that I get to spend an afternoon in the sun gossiping with her and all I have to worry about is remembering to take my scissors, pins, needle & thread.

Leave a Reply

