New Year’s resolutions

I don’t believe that setting a New Year’s resolution is effective or achievable.  Normally a resolution is stated in the heat of the moment as you have had to quickly think something up just to keep someone else happy.  You know, the one’s like I’m going to lose weight, I’m going to get fit, I’m going to do a cruise around the Pacific or I’m going to find a new job.
 
I have waited until the end of the first month in the New Year so this is not classed as a resolution, it’s one of my 2010 goals. This year I want to progress from walking to running.  Easy you might say but I HATE running and I feel like a pregnant elephant whenever I have to do it.  But I am going to persevere as my ultimate goal is to run the Round the Bays Road Race.  I thought I would complete the race in 2010 but that’s only three weeks away so maybe 2011 is more realistic.  It’s 7km or the longer run is 21km.
 
In two weeks I have progressed from being only able to run one lamp-post to being able to run just over 1km.    All the websites tell you not to overdo things and to build up your distance gradually.  Unfortunately I read this advice after I strained my ankle.  Result:  I can now only limp/walk and running is painful.  Just when I was starting to enjoy it I have to go back to walking – at least until the ankle comes right.  But it’s okay because I invested in a good ankle brace so that will keep things straight when I do get back to running.
Leave a Reply

